Gear Guide: Brooks PureProject Seamless Capri

It’s the second edition of the Gear Guide, and we have another black seamless spandex bottom. What else did you expect from a bean counter?

Good news for the ol’ wallet: today’s gear is a past-season model that is currently featured on several discount sites. You’re welcome, Santa.

The Product: Brooks PureProject Seamless Capri

Brooks Women's Pureproject Seamless Running Capri

Photo credit: Brooks

I found these when I was looking for a deal on a pair of seamless black crops that I could pack for trips as a versatile, do-anything piece.

Stats:

  • Price: $39.95 minus 35% email subscriber discount on Sierra Trading Post
  • Inseam: 19″
  • Size ordered: Small
  • My measurements:
    • Waist: 28″
    • Hips: 38″
    • Inseam: 30.5″
    • Pants sizes: 2 in J.Crew; 6 in Theory
  • Size chart measurements for size small:
    • Waist: 26″-28″
    • Hips: 35.5″-37.5″

Initial impressions

Pattern down the side

The Brooks PureProject Seamless Capris were love at first try. They fit more snugly (in a comfortable way) than some seamless garments; the fit through the thighs reminded me of my Zensah compression sleeves. The fit is less snug through the butt than a compression legging, so it doesn’t restrict movement. The waist is high and feels like it’s holding in my tummy a little bit. The fabric is soft and comfortable, and there is a little decorative pattern in the texture down the side of the leg.

I hadn’t paid much attention to the description of the waistband pockets when I made the purchase. The pockets are on the inside of the waistband, and a rubbery substance is around the opening. I was nervous about the potential for chafing, but the pockets weren’t noticeable once I tried on the capris. The pockets are big enough for a card or keys, but not a phone.

brooks capris with pockets

Left: back pocket / Right: front pockets

On the run

I wore the PureProject Seamless Capris on a short recovery run with the temperature in the mid-40s, and I didn’t get too warm or cold. I stashed my house keys and a credit card/ID in the front pockets. I don’t think a full set of keys would work well in these pockets, but my two house keys were stashed safely and comfortably.

I barely noticed the capris on my run; always a good thing. After I took off the capris, I noticed that the fabric had pulled from rubbing against my shirt or jacket. I wasn’t wearing anything with a rough texture, so durability of the fabric could be a concern.
brooks seamless capris review

In the weight room

The Brooks PureProject Seamless Capris are my new favorite bottoms for strength training. They have every characteristic I like in the weight room: snug, comfortable, and don’t restrict my range of motion.

brooks seamless crops review

Cat photobomb outtake

Have you tried these capris or a similar style? Let me know in the comments what you think about them, or what comparable garments you’d recommend.

Note:  I received no free stuff nor compensation in exchange for this post. In fact, I decided to write this post last night on a whim when I pulled these crops out of the dryer. I think it’s safe to say that all opinions and observations in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

