RnR Savannah / St. Jude Half Marathon Training: Weeks 14-15

For those who have been keeping up with my training (hi Mom!), I’ve been working toward building mileage cautiously after August training went off the rails and September was a battle (often a losing one) for consistency.

Good news – it worked! I managed to increase my mileage without getting injured, and I’m caught back up to my training plan.

Week 14: 31 miles

This was a cutback/mini-taper week before the Atlanta 10 Miler.

Monday, 10/19 

Ressssst.

Tuesday, 10/20

  • Plan: 7 miles: mile 3 @ tempo + 8×1:00 @ 5k pace, 2:00 jog rest; core; strength training
  • Actual: 7 miles: mile 3 @ 8:41 + 6×1:00 @ 8:12/mi average; strength training

I read the workout wrong, and did 6 1-minute repeats instead of 8. The world shall not end; however, I will work on my reading comprehension skills.

I got to deadlift again in the strength workout (5 sets: 1 warmup set of 10; 4 sets of 5). Last week I eased into it by focusing on form and keeping the weight pretty low at 105 lbs. This week I did a couple of sets of 5 at 110 before increasing to 115 for the remaining sets. Still, it didn’t feel too challenging to hold good form; also, hooray for no SI joint pain!

Wednesday, 10/21

  • Plan: 3 mile recovery run
  • Actual: 3 mile recovery run

Thursday, 10/22

  • Plan: 5 miles easy + 4 strides; hips/glutes
  • Actual: 5 miles + 4 strides; hips/glutes

After an otherwise unremarkable run, I was running strides and somehow hit a gear that I hadn’t hit in a while. It reminded me why strides are fun: it takes you back to running as a kid, without regard for paces or splits. (Side note: if you’re not running strides, give it a try! I like this explainer for the newbie to strides.)

Friday, 10/23

Rest day. For once, I wasn’t totally craving the rest day; this was probably because of the cutback in mileage. My cousin was in town with her husband for a conference, so she ditched the conference, and we went out for a delicious dinner at Rathbun’s. All of our food was delicious, but a real unexpected delight was the side of creamed corn.

Saturday, 10/24

  • Plan: 3 miles easy + 4 strides
  • Actual: 3 miles easy + 4 strides

Thanks to Oiselle for making green Mac Rogas. #sicembears

I got the run done on a fun football Saturday and wore green and white in honor of the Baylor homecoming game. All I did all day was run, watch football, and eat delicious foods. It was fantastic.

Sunday, 10/25:

  • Plan: 2 mile warm-up, 10 mile race, 2 mile cool-down
  • Actual: 1.5 mile warm-up, Atlanta 10 Miler (1:28:31), 1.5 mile cool-down

I mentioned this in my race recap, but I’m really awful at getting in the warm-up and cool-down miles called for – this time, parking a little over a mile from the race was the only thing that forced me to do it (although short by a half mile each way).

After the race, I tried to take an ice bath, which was pretty unsuccessful in my stall shower. 😛

Week 15: 40 miles

Monday, 10/26

REST. Sweet rest. Much needed. This week, we also learned that cats are predators who would like to kill us. As far as I can tell, Lucy has given up this dream and focuses her predatory instincts on her yarn ball and extracting extra kibble from her feeder. (I like this photo because she does look kind of creepy.)

Tuesday, 10/27

  • Plan: 3 miles easy + 4 strides; core
  • 3 miles + 4 strides; 15 minutes of core work

Super boring easy-paced treadmill run after work on a rainy day. I had packed stuff for running in the rain, but I wasn’t feeling it.

Wednesday, 10/28

  • Plan: 7 miles: 8×1:00 @ 10k pace, 2:00 recovery; strength training
  • Actual: 7 miles: 8×1:00 @ 8:08/mile average; strength training

I felt like $1 million after the extra recovery day from my race, and I ran my workout a bit faster than I should have. The good news was that it didn’t feel very challenging. I think the extra recovery day worked wonders.

Thursday, 10/29

  • Plan: 8 miles + 4 strides; hips/glutes; strength training
  • Actual: 9 miles + 4 strides, strength training

I inadvertently added about a mile to my run. I took a different turn to avoid stopping at a red light, and I’d run nearly a half mile when I realized I had to backtrack to my original route. I ran strides after the 8 mile mark (I found a really nice flat stretch there), then jogged home extra-easy.

Friday, 10/30

Ah, rest day. The Friday rest day was much appreciated this week.

Saturday, 10/31

  • Plan: 16 miles
  • Actual: 16 miles @ 10:32/mile

After suffering on hills in the 10 Miler last weekend, I decided to do my long run on the same hilly route that ate me alive for a few 9-12 mile runs earlier in the training cycle. I couldn’t believe how easy it was to get into a rhythm on this run. During mile 12, I did a few short uphill surges at a medium-hard effort, which was pretty fun.

Fall is here! Please stay a while, fall.

Sunday, 11/1

  • Plan: 5 mile recovery run
  • Actual: 5 mile recovery run; Myrtl routine

I had a nice recovery run on a hilly route, although I probably should have found something a little flatter after the hilly long run the day before. I did the Myrtl routine – a quick hip-focused set of exercises – after my run. I was doing this routine more consistently earlier in the year, and it felt good to get back to it. It’s not too strenuous, so it’s great for a recovery run day.

What’s next:

This week is the RnR Savannah Half Marathon. I have another cutback/baby-taper week leading up to the race. Last year, I ran 1:55:53 in this race in good weather. This year, the forecast isn’t looking great: the forecasted low has increased from 65 degrees to 68 degrees, and with rain expected all week, there’s no doubt it will be humid.

I don’t think it makes sense to put all my eggs in the PR basket for this race, especially with St. Jude coming up in December. The heat and humidity could get me in trouble if I try to run an exact Garmin pace. My plan is to wear the Garmin so I can nerd out on the data post-race, but I don’t plan to look at it too often during the race.

I plan to aim for a sub-1:55 half in Memphis, so this race will more or less a dress rehearsal to gauge where I am fitness-wise on a flat course. If I can run close to the time I ran last year, I’ll feel like I’m in great shape to run a fast race in Memphis.

Anyone else racing in Savannah this weekend?

What are your thoughts on racing in humidity?

8 thoughts on “RnR Savannah / St. Jude Half Marathon Training: Weeks 14-15

  1. Your mileage per week is always so impressive! I can’t wait until I run 40 miles per week easy. I always try to avoid the humidity by going up north to race. But then I get hills, which I don’t have around me when I train. I think I’m going to just deal with humid races from now on. It won’t be easy for you but I feel like there will always be that one bad factor we have to deal with on our races. I wish I knew which one was more PR friendly though. You see those people who travel across the country to do a flat race at the perfect time of the year and in the perfect weather, even if it’s a race in the middle of some random mining village of West Virginia. I think I’m going to become that person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad to be back on track mileage-wise since I’m also trying to build a base for Paris.

      I agree that it’s hard to find the flat race with perfect weather. What’s the difference between us and those people who seem to find it? Maybe they just don’t complain as much, lol. If you do become that person, let me know! I’m thinking next fall is when I’m going to go for the sub-4, so I’ll need all the marathon-selecting help I can get!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This weather we’ve been having recently is no joke. I like the idea of not looking at your watch while racing.

    Do you use salt pills? If not, check out the slow release ones I posted about this week….may help since it’s sure to be a schweaty race for you. Hey…at least you aren’t running the full in this weather! Good luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I don’t know if it’s El Niño or what, but I’m not loving the weather this fall. I’ve never used salt pills, so I probably shouldn’t try it for the first time in a race, but I’ll have to check them out for another time. (First I should figure out why people use them! 😛 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

