racingoprah’s Favorite Things: New Year Edition

In honor of the almost-new-year, here are a few of my recent favorites:

Icebreaker Sprite Hot Pants: In cold winter temperatures, I can wear the warmest tights and my butt will still go numb. This numbness is really unhelpful for making sure my glutes are firing. The best solution I’ve found is wearing merino wool boy shorts under running tights, like this style from Icebreaker. They’re a bit pricey, but worth it for a quality, sustainably produced garment made by fairly treated workers. Alternatively, check out discount sites like 6pm.com or Sierra Trading Post.

The Pioneer Woman’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies: Browned butter and subtle coffee flavors take chocolate chunk cookies – always a treat – and bring them to another level of deliciousness. These cookies have a ton of butter, so they spread out more than the typical cookie, as I learned the hard way.

cookies

Not so pretty, but so yummy.

Lululemon Runday Crops: I wrote about falling on my face during a long run in New Orleans while training for the St. Jude Marathon. I fell on my left knee and hands. While my hands got some nasty scrapes, the crops held their own and protected my knee. And they still look brand new! These crops have a high waist and large waistband pockets, just big enough to just fit my iPhone 6. Note: I got these crops on sale in a prior season. 

runday crops

This is the knee that I fell on in New Orleans, and the crops still look perfect.

Soft Pants: A trend that is as comfortable as wearing pajamas? Say no more. I struggled a bit with how to style soft pants without wearing heels, but I had some luck with a pullover sweater and slip-on flats. A shoe or short boot with a chunky heel would be cute too.

soft pants styling

Pants: Anthropologie (sale) / Sweater: J.Crew (sale) / Shoes: Frye

ANY running gear with pockets that fit an iPhone 6, specifically the Brooks Nightlife Essential Vest: Apple clearly didn’t consult the running crowd when designing the iPhone 6. Some may like to run without a phone or wear an armband, but I miss being able to squeeze my old iPhone 4S into the pockets of nearly all of my running clothes. I like listening to Audible or podcasts (or Taylor Swift, evidently) on the run. So when I realized that the media pocket in my Brooks Nightlife vest fit my iPhone 6 perfectly, I was ecstatic.

brooks vest

Happy New Year’s Eve everybody! Be safe out there.

Note: All items featured in this post were purchased by me personally, and I received no compensation from any of the companies featured. I just like this stuff and want to share it with anyone interested!

2 thoughts on “racingoprah’s Favorite Things: New Year Edition

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! It’s like my butt is another extremity 🙂 I have styles from both Icebreaker and Smartwool and they haven’t let me down yet! I hope you find some you like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

