Vegan Indulgences, Part I

I saw a peculiar pin on Pinterest last week. Vegan queso. Sounds gross, right?

I don’t know what compelled me to try it (ok, I want to find some healthy-ish indulgences to have while I’m training to crush Oprah). Here is a link to the original recipe.

The “queso” is made from boiled and puréed potatoes and carrots, nutritional yeast, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. The original recipe is basically trying to mimic ballpark nacho cheese, and I think the result is way better than ballpark nacho cheese. But I was looking for something more like chunky queso.

There appeared to be some potential in this yellowy concoction. I liked the texture – it was a little less gooey than regular queso, but it’s still a good consistency for dipping. I wanted more flavor and some chunkiness, so I added a bit more salt, to taste, and about 1/4 teaspoon of cumin. Then I diced a couple tomatoes, a red onion, and a jalapeño (I removed most of the seeds).

It was pretty tasty immediately, but it was even better after sitting in the fridge for a day and letting the onion-y, peppery, cumin-y flavors develop. Both Jeff and a buddy of his liked it (I served it with homemade baked corn tortilla chips). And I got what I wanted – a reasonable indulgence. Bonus: it cleans up so much easier than cheese.

I found a vegan chorizo recipe on the New York Times food page, so my next vegan queso experiment will definitely incorporate that. I’ll keep you posted. Happy dipping!

Leave a Reply

