Gear Review: Handful Adjustable Bra

I recently bought the Adjustable Bra made by Handful. It’s hard to resist a sports bra company with a tagline of “Flatter, not flatten.”

The draw:
– adjustable straps can be crossed in back or worn like an everyday bra
– gathered front seems like it would prevent uniboob
– ample removable padding adds some shape for small chested ladies

20140719-105157-39117253.jpg

I’m intrigued. According to Runner’s World and reviews on Amazon, this bra actually provides enough support for running. The bra comes in sizes XXS – XL. Based on the company’s size chart, I ordered an XS, which corresponds to a 32A-C. I ordered directly from the Handful website, got free shipping and it was on my doorstep in 2 days. Bonus points for customer service.

The mirror test (Grade: A+)
I can confirm that the XS is perfectly true to size. It feels comfortably snug without digging in or causing dreaded “back fat.” I’m pleasantly surprised to see that the padding is as advertised – I even have a hint of cleavage!! For me, this is definitely not a bra to wear without a tank over it, but it’s always nice to feel like a lady in technical gear.  I could also see this doubling as an everyday bra, and would be great for travel // bonus points for versatility.

The jumping in place test (C)
The Handful Adjustable bra passes this test, but isn’t at the top of the class. In the jumping test, there was definitely more bounce/movement than I’d like, but it performed better than your standard yoga bra. I would not wear this bra for any sport involving jumping/plyometrics.

The running test (B)
I wore my new Handful bra on an easy 4 mile run along City Creek in Salt Lake City while on a business trip. I’m happy to report that I didn’t really notice the bra much on my run, which I think is a good thing. There were a couple of times that I noticed some bouncing, so this isn’t the most perfect running bra ever. Overall, no major complaints.

The wearing-to-work test (A+)
In the hot summer (especially for those of us who use public transit), who doesn’t want to wear a sweat-wicking, stretchy, comfortable bra to work? I sure do. This bra feels awesome all day and does enough lifting and separating to look good under a work blouse.

This bra was a good find, especially since it can do double-duty when I want to pack light for travel. It won’t be my go-to running bra, but it’s certainly a serviceable running bra for A and small B cups. I think it would also be awesome for hiking, yoga, cycling, etc. I’m planning to get another in a basic color.

Leave a Reply

